In 1987, the Georgia Mathematical Association of Two-Year Colleges was founded at the first annual DeKalb College (later Georgia Perimeter College, now Georgia State University’s Perimeter College) Mathematics Conference. Sharon Ross, DeKalb College Central Campus (now Clarkston Campus), was instrumental in writing the first constitution and by-laws. The first president of GMATYC was Ms. Linda Exley, DeKalb College, Central Campus (now Clarkston Campus).

More recently, the annual GMATYC business meeting has taken place at the Georgia State University’s Perimeter College Mathematics Conference each February. Membership has grown over the years to nearly 150 members from two-and four-year colleges, both public and private, technical schools, and universities throughout Georgia.

Past Presidents:

Nikita Patterson – Perimeter College, Georgia State University (2020-2021)

Behnaz Rouhani – Perimeter College, Georgia State University (2018-2019)

Alvina Atkinson – Georgia Gwinnett College (2016-2017)

Maggie Ehrlich – Georgia Perimeter College (2014-2015)

Don Brown – Middle Georgia State College (2012-2013)

Ralph Wildy – Georgia Military College (2010-2011)

Jessica Craig – Georgia Perimeter College (2006-2009)

Donna Saye – Georgia Southern University (2004-2005)

Gloria Hitchcock – Georgia Perimeter College (2002-2003)

Kim Robinson – Clayton College & State University (2000-2001)

Sharon Ross – Georgia Perimeter College (1998-1999)

Margie Clark – DeKalb College (1996-1997)

Kathy Hunt – Gainesville College (1994-1995)

Gillian (Jill) Paul – Waycross College (1992-1993)

Bill Bompart – Augusta College (1990-1991)

Linda Exley – DeKalb College (1987-1989)