About Us

  • rhetoric and composition faculty
    From left: George Pullman, Mary Hocks, Lynée Lewis Gaillet, Elizabeth Sanders Lopez, Ashley J. Holmes, Robin Wharton, Michael Harker, Baotong Gu

Composition and Rhetoric at Georgia State University is an area of concentration for earning a B. A., M. A., or Ph. D. in English, although anyone can take the courses offered. No other university in Georgia offers this opportunity.

As a student in Composition and Rhetoric, you will study rhetorical history and theory as well as contemporary approaches to the theory and practice of writing in both academic and non-academic settings. You will also learn how to use new digital publication platforms that will make you more attractive to prospective employers.

Whatever your academic and career goals, taking courses in Composition and Rhetoric will help you become a better writer and improve your ability to communicate effectively.

Meet the Faculty

gaillet-headshot1
Lynée Gaillet
25 Park Place 2423
lgaillet@gsu.edu
Chair, Department of English
History of Rhetoric, Archival Research
 
gu-ci-headshot
Baotong Gu
25 Park Place 2437
bgu@gsu.edu
Technical & Professional Writing
harker_headshot
Michael Harker
25 Park Place 2428
mharker@gsu.edu
Literacy Studies,
Rhetoric and Composition
hocks_headshot
Mary Hocks
25 Park Place 2435
mhocks@gsu.edu
Director, The Writing Studio
Digital Rhetoric, Multimodal Composition
holmes-headshot
Ashley J. Holmes
25 Park Place 2430
aholmes@gsu.edu

Director, Rhetoric and Composition
Public Pedagogy, Composition Studies 
lopez_headshot
Elizabeth Lopez
25 Park Place 2433
eslopez@gsu.edu
Director, Lower Division Studies
Technical & Professional Writing
pullman-headshot
George Pullman
25 Park Place 2424
gpullman@gsu.edu
Digital Rhetoric, History of Rhetoric
snow-headshot
Malinda Snow
25 Park Place 2323
msnow@gsu.edu
Rhetoric, Eighteenth-Century British Literature
wharton_headshot
Robin Wharton
25 Park Place 2432
rwharton3@gsu.edu
Digital Pedagogy,
Multimodal Rhetoric and Composition