About Us

  • rhetoric and composition faculty

Faculty: Baotong Gu, Michael Harker, George Pullman, Elizabeth Sanders Lopez, Mary Hocks, Lynée Lewis Gaillet, Ashley J. Holmes (click to enlarge in new window)

Composition and Rhetoric at Georgia State University is an area of concentration for earning a B. A., M. A., or Ph. D. in English, although anyone can take the courses offered. No other university in Georgia offers this opportunity.

As a student in Composition and Rhetoric, you will study rhetorical history and theory as well as contemporary approaches to the theory and practice of writing in both academic and non-academic settings. You will also learn how to use new digital publication platforms that will make you more attractive to prospective employers.

Whatever your academic and career goals, taking courses in Composition and Rhetoric will help you become a better writer and improve your ability to communicate effectively.

Meet the Faculty

gaillet-headshot1
Lynée Gaillet
25 Park Place 2423
lgaillet@gsu.edu
History of Rhetoric, Archival Research 
 
gu-ci-headshot
Baotong Gu
25 Park Place 2433
bgu@gsu.edu
Director, Rhetoric and Composition
Technical & Professional Writing
 
harker_headshot Michael Harker
25 Park Place 2428
mharker@gsu.edu
Director, Lower Division Studies
Literacy Studies,
Rhetoric and Composition
 
hocks_headshot Mary Hocks
25 Park Place 2435
mhocks@gsu.edu
Digital Rhetoric, Composition Studies
 
holmes-headshot Ashley J. Holmes
25 Park Place 2430
aholmes@gsu.edu
Director, Writing Across the Curriculum
Public Pedagogy, Composition Studies 
 
lopez_headshot Elizabeth Lopez
25 Park Place 2433
eslopez@gsu.edu
Associate Chair, Department of English 
Technical & Professional Writing
 
pullman-headshot George Pullman
25 Park Place 2424
gpullman@gsu.edu
Digital Rhetoric, History of Rhetoric
 
snow-headshot Malinda Snow
25 Park Place 2323
msnow@gsu.edu
Rhetoric, Eighteenth-Century British Literature