About New Voices


New Voices is an annual conference that is run by the graduate students in the Georgia State University English Department. Each conference centers around an interdisciplinary theme which changes from year-to-year.

New Voices is affiliated with the Georgia State University’s Graduate English Association.

Faculty Adviser

Current Committee Members (2018-2019)

  • Nicole K. Turner, First Chair
  • Caitlin Creson, Second Chair
  • Valerie Smith, Secretary
  • Anastasia Latson, Treasurer and GEA Liaison
  • Dionne Clark, Hospitality Chair
  • Megan Clark, Creative Writing Coordinator
  • Anna Sandy, Creative Writing Chair, Poetry
  • Megan Clark, Creative Writing Chair, Fiction 
  • Shannon Lee, Communication Chair
  • Elisha Schuett, Literary Studies Chair
  • Allison Gunn, Rhetoric and Composition Chair
  • Jeremy Simpson, Marketing Coordinator

Previous First Chairs

  • Brittny M. Byrom (2018-2019)
  • Anna Barattin (2016-2018)
  • Mostafa Jalal (2015-2017)
  • Kateland Wolfe (2015-2016)
  • Deborah S. D’Cruze (2014-2015)
  • Valerie Robin (2012-2014)
  • Shane McGowan (2012-2014)
  • Mary Grace Elliott (2011-2012)

Photos from Past New Voices Conferences: