The rich history of the Underground dates back to the early 1900s. Since then, it has undergone several transformations and seen many eras. However, there is one aspect of the Underground that is even older and has outlived its original structures. The Gas Lamp, located at the lower entrance to the Underground, was created in 1856 by the Atlanta Gas Light Company and was shelled by Union artillery prior to the Battle of Atlanta during the Civil War. This lamp is significant because of the story of Sam Luckie, one of the few free blacks in Atlanta, who died of injuries from beings struck by a cannon shell. This business owner and citizen was leaning against this lamp when the attack happened. Luckie Street in downtown Atlanta is named in his honor.