Skip to toolbar

Reflective Teaching

Supporting Your Students During Times of Uncertainty

by Dr. Claudette L. Tolson (ctolson@gsu.edu) Associate Professor of History, Georgia State University's Perimeter College As we entered 2020, none of us could have expected a global pandemic and nationwide social unrest. This year has definitely been overwhelming. You...

Creating Medication Card Masters (Pandemic Pivot Series)

by Dr. Lorrie Stewart-Torres (lstewart25@gsu.edu) Faculty Instructor ADN Pediatric Program, Georgia State University's Perimeter College Medication Card completion is one pharmacologic learning intervention given to nursing students. Medication or Drug cards are...

Best Practices for Online Teaching from a Veteran Online Instructor

by Ulrike Lahaise (ulahaise@gsu.edu) Associate Professor of Astronomy/Physics, Georgia State University's Perimeter College Online Many students are still going to be brand new to the online environment and are still in the process of figuring out how to make taking...

The Importance of Stories: Narrative and Empathy during COVID-19 (Pandemic Pivot Series)

By Owen Cantrell (ocantrell1@gsu.edu) As we sit in the face of over 100,000 deaths and nearly 25% unemployment in the United States, the problems of pedagogy are hard to think of as essential. It is often difficult to know what is happening and especially how to make...

A Crash Course for New Online Faculty

  by Lee Brewer Jones (ljones109@gsu.edu) Think back to the beginning of your career. You may have received months of training before you became an instructor of record, and then a mentor worked closely with you. The university where you probably taught first as...

Scholarly Teaching (short and long form essays)

The Sense of Individuality: Teaching in Prisons with the Georgia State University Prison Education Program (GSUPEP)

Editor's Note: This post is part of an ongoing series about experiences faculty, staff, and students have had working with the Georgia State University Prison Education Project (GSUPEP). You can learn more about the project at their website...

The Faces You Can’t Forget: Teaching in Prisons with the Georgia State University Prison Education Program (GSUPEP)

Editor's Note: This post is the first in a series about experiences faculty, staff, and students have had working with the Georgia State University Prison Education Project (GSUPEP). You can learn more about the project at their website...

Watching before Writing: Integrating Visual and Verbal Literacy in the Composition Classroom

By Charles Fox (cfox4@gsu.edu) In his essay, “How to Teach Film Adaptations, and Why,” Thomas Leitch argues for restructuring English departments in a way that more accurately reflects our new vision of that which is literary. Whereas in a traditional English...

Time for Self-Evaluation: Responding to Student Writing

By Lauren Curtright (lcurtright@gsu.edu) English instructors at all levels of education, as well as the professional organizations that set our pedagogical standards, must take a hard look at our beliefs and practices about responding to students’ writing. In the face...

“It’s Just Too Important”: Service Learning and Social Justice

By Matt Dolloff (mdolloff@gsu.edu) Debra Greenwood in Journal Of Education And Training Studies defines service learning as “a teaching and learning strategy that integrates meaningful community service with instruction and reflection to enrich the learning...

SoTL Work in Progress (Short and Long Form Essays)

Developing Metacognitive Skills in a Math Class

by Lynda Cain (lcain3@gsu.edu), Assistant Professor of Mathematics, Georgia State University's Perimeter College, and Marjorie Lewkowicz (mlewkowicz1@gsu.edu), Professor of Mathematics, Georgia State University's Perimeter College During the Summer semester, 2019,...

Revising My Peer Review Sessions: Creating a “Peer Tutor” Experience in the Classroom by Rebecca Weaver

Revising My Peer Review Sessions: Creating a "Peer Tutor" Experience in the Classroom by Rebecca Weaver (rweaver@gsu.edu)   Introduction: This semester, I tried a new approach to peer review that I based on a typical peer tutoring session in a writing center....

The Sense of Individuality: Teaching in Prisons with the Georgia State University Prison Education Program (GSUPEP)

Editor's Note: This post is part of an ongoing series about experiences faculty, staff, and students have had working with the Georgia State University Prison Education Project (GSUPEP). You can learn more about the project at their website...

The Faces You Can’t Forget: Teaching in Prisons with the Georgia State University Prison Education Program (GSUPEP)

Editor's Note: This post is the first in a series about experiences faculty, staff, and students have had working with the Georgia State University Prison Education Project (GSUPEP). You can learn more about the project at their website...

Feedback and Building the Foundation for Writing

by Jennifer M. Colatosti (jcolatosti@gsu.edu) In my first semester teaching at Perimeter College, I was assigned three sections of the Foundations for English Composition Learning Support class. The purpose of the Foundations class is to help underprepared students...

Teaching Social Justice in a Two-Year College Classroom: Accounts from the Classroom

By Neeley Gossett  (ngossett1@gsu.edu) During the fall 2016 semester, I assigned my English 1101 classes to write personal narrative essays about social injustice. My inspiration for one of the assignments came from the Alliance Theatre’s Collision Project. “For three...